ChithLith

It was 7:00 am and Lalith sped his Activa, to Barkatpura Hanuman temple to meet Manognya, for one last time. He was struck in the unusual traffic and had to travel 9km more.

Few Years ago:

Chitra, how is the guy? Show his picture na…
Chitra’s was the next wedding in the group of 5 friends.  First it was Varsha’s and now Chitra’s.
He looks nice… But you just finished your MBA and got placed. Why wedding and all now only? You can work for some time yaar… What’s the hurry?
My parents’ decision is the final one… He is earning good, well settled and also goes on-site once in a while… Chalega yaar… He seems to be a nice guy…
Achaaa…. Pyaar ho gaya tereko? Itna sharma mat re… save some for the day of your marriage too..
Chal-Paagal! 😛

Chitra was a 22 year old girl from Hyderabad, who graduated from Osmania University with a Gold Medal in Strategic Management and was placed in a leading consulting firm in Pune, but life had a very different package for her- Her wedding was fixed to Lalith, a 25 year old Techie, based at Chennai.

Chitra and Lalith were engaged and with 3-4 months of courtship, they got married.

Chitra, what are you doing?
Hmm… Lalith, can you help me out with a Job somewhere? I am getting bored sitting home all day….
You can join some hobby classes instead Chitra… We have a big house, a two wheeler and a four wheeler and I have a good bank balance… I am earning well right? I don’t want you to work Chitra….
But…Lalith…
No more ‘ifs’ or ‘buts’ Chitra… Give me that Tab…I will look out for the best hobby class for you somewhere nearby….

Chitra enrolled herself in Music and Cooking classes… She improved her vocal skills and also learnt ways to cook like a pro.

6 months passed and one evening, when Lalith was back home, a surprise awaited him….
Lalith….Lalith… guess what??? Chitra was at the peak of her excitement…
What is it dear? 
Fresh up and come soon… I will tell it during dinner… 

Lalith wondered at the child-like excitement of Chitra and rushed to the table as soon as possible.
At the dinner table, Chitra placed 2 big plates, water glasses and a tiny plate and glass of water… She looked at her husband and smiled shyly…
What is it Chitra??
Did you not understand?  One plate for you, one for me and the other for our Little one… We are going to be parents Lalith!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀
Whaaat!!!! Oh My God!!! Am I going to be Appa!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 I am so happy today!!! 
Yessss… We are going to be parents soon…
Why din’t you tell it to me immediately??
I wanted to surprise you…..
But I think I am the last one to know this!
No, I haven’t told it to anyone…. I will tell it to Amma-Appa and my Parents tomorrow…
I thought that you’d have told it to everyone by this time!
I am not so stupid Lalith… Why would I?
I didn’t mean it that way! Don’t take it the other way round…
Fine… Good night.. 😦
I am going out… I’ll be back in an hour! 

Sometime later….
Chitra…come here… to the table…
Ice Cream? 
Sure… 😀 That small cup, the two of us will share, ok?

In the course of 9 months, Chitra delivered a baby girl. The couple named her Manognya.
Chitra, left to Chennai when baby Manognya turned 5 months old…

Manognya turned 10 months old… Life was very hectic for Lalith… He never had time for his wife or child… He worked even on weekends… Chitra never complained a bit about Lalith’s carelessness and never showed it out on days when their infant was suffering with high fever. She knew that the recession had hit the Indian market and everyone, with a fear of losing their jobs and to meet expenses, worked harder every day.
She knew it all…
One evening Lalith came home dejected. He kicked his shoes hard that they flew and fell at the Kitchen door. He sat on the sofa and hung his head down, covering his face with both his palms. Chitra did not understand what went wrong with her husband… She left him alone for sometime.
Lalith, coffee…
Lalith uncovered his face, with his eyes red and teary…
Chitra, I lost my job Chitra… They fired me from my Job… I was one among the 40 employees… Many of them requested the Manager and have started flattering and serving him like a slave to get back their jobs… I cannot do that… 
Lalith cried covering his face, lying on Chitra’s lap

It’s alright Lalith… We will find a solution for this… Don’t cry…

Lalith tried his best to get a job, all his efforts went in vain… It was very difficult for him manage the finances.
I want to celebrate Manognya’s first birthday with pomp… Amma and Appa are telling that they will bear the expenses… I am a very bad father Chitra… I am unable to celebrate my daughter’s birthday also… I had so may plans…  I don’t want to ask my parents for it…

Lalith, it is just a birthday.. We will do a small pooja and do a celebration within the house… Next year, we will throw a big party.. Don’t you worry…

As per Chitra’s wishes, they performed a pooja for the Child’s well being and did a small celebration within the house.

Lalith, tomorrow I am having an interview… Can you drop me at the Office please?
What! You never told me that you were looking out for jobs… If you get a job who will take care of our child? Have you gone out of your brain?
I’ll explain… See, it is a 9-5 job, till the time I come back, Manognya will be taken care off by my mother… I told amma about our situation.. She said she will be here…
Oh! so you told your mother that her son-in-law was thrown out of his job and is jobless eh?
No Lalith, nothing like that.. I just explained that the situation is not so good and that I need to get back to work….
Ok! Who will bear her stay’s expenses here?
I have saved a little, Appa said he will give me some money for Amma’s stay… Please agree to this Lalith…. see, it is alright… The job market for Software engineers is very tough, but not for Management grads… I am a MBA, I am almost selected in that company… Just the last round tomorrow and I will bag a very good job…
Oh! So it came to the extent of your Appa sending money to bear our expenses ah?  You are showing off that you are better qualified than me eh??
Lalith why are you talking like this?
Chitra, are you trying to insult me in front of your family?  Look, I am joining classes for MBA from tomorrow and I cannot drop you at the office… I am not going to take care of Manognya as well… I saved money for my studies and I am going to do that… You hell with your work!
Lalith, how can you be so selfish?
Don’t ever think you can dominate me!
Fine!

Chitra bagged the job and silently paid for the house expenses.
Lalith and Chitra were not in good terms with each other… They fought almost everyday…

One day,
Lalith, how dare you call my father and shout at him?
Why don’t you ask him the reason, yourself!
Appa just suggested you to work and study later….Need of the moment is money, not studies…
His talks were not in a suggestive tone… He indirectly poked at me that I was thrown out of my job and I am now eating your money!
Why do you take it that way?
Your father did speak that way…And you don’t try to suppress me… I know you don’t want me to study further… you want to dominate me with your money… Remember that I will not bow my head to anyone!
You have gone out of your mind Lalith! I am not dominating you… I am just helping you meet the expenses…nothing more… My father educated me so that my studies would be of some help at times like these…
Oh! so now you are telling that my father did not educate me more eh? you are such a bitch and your father is a retard!
Lalith, unmindful of Manognya playing there, stumbled upon her toy car and fell down on Little Manognya . Manognya’s head hit the floor hard and in few seconds the floor was filled with the infant’s blood… She lay there unconscious… Chitra picked her dying child and rushed to the Hospital….
Lalith went to the hospital and found Chitra crying silently in the corner of the Operation Theatre.
Chitra…Chitra…
Don’t you dare come near me… You mad man! My child! What did she do to you? You went to an extent to kill her!! You are a useless guy, filled with nothing but EGO!!! You Psycho!

Lalith walked out of the place angrily…

A week later, Chitra, along with Manognya and her Father, went to Hyderabad and got her child treated there for the wounds… It took a lot of time for Manognya’s wounds to heal… Meanwhile, Chitra joined in the consultancy firm, which offered her a job long back, when she graduated.

Lalith joined ISB-Hyderabad, for his further studies, after applying for a divorce with Chitra on mutual consent.

Hello, Chitra… I want to see my child once… We have the last hearing the day after tomorrow… Before that I want to see Manognya…Please…
Fine, come to Barkatpura Hanuman Temple on Saturday at 8:00 am sharp.. Not a minute here or there…
Ok! I will be there…

Chitra dressed up Manognya in a white T-shirt and grey floral shorts…
It was 7:30 am and Chitra, along with her daughter, left to the temple.

Lalith reached Barkatpura late, at 8:30 am… He carried with him a backpack in which he bought a lot of toys, chocolates and clothes for his daughter. He was worried about the time and ran along the long corridor, pushing people aside. He searched for Chitra all over and did not find her…
Chitra must have left.. I was late… No problem, I will pray and go atleast…
With hands held and eyes closed tight, he mumbled a prayer in front of Hanuman.
Few drops of tears fell from his face…
Appa… Appa… A little girl tapped Lalith’s leg…
She wore a white T-shirt with a picture of Lalith holding a baby , on which “Appa’s little Girl” was written in bold letters…
Manognya…. He said, as he lifted the 3 year old child and kissed her… He ran his hand through Manognya’s head. As he felt the stitch marks on her head , he cried out louder.
Lalith saw that the child resembled him a lot… Every time Manognya called him ‘Appa’, his heart skipped a beat… Chitra saw it all in hiding…
Can I take my child back?
Chitra, please don’t say that… I need you and Manognya back.. Please… He cried like a baby, covering his face with both his palms… He fell on his knees, feeling guilty of his actions…
Chitra… I am very sorry… I shouldn’t have done that to you… I don’t want you to leave me Chitra… I am extremely sorry for all my past actions… I missed you each day… That Divorce, I filed it out of my Ego… Today, I stand here, all alone.. like an orphan… My parents are no more talking to me… I have no friends… I am all alone…. My EGO killed the human in me… I know, sorry is not enough to heal all the wounds I caused to you and Manognya…. I have taken back the case yesterday Chitra… I will take care of you and Manognya from now on… you can go for work, you can run your own business or do anything you please…. But please don’t leave me like this… I will apologise to your parents…. Please don’t leave me Chitra….
I have a MBA degree, I bagged a 24 LPA job… what is the use of all these when I don’t have anyone by me? Chitra, please be mine… I want the two of you….
Chitra sat down and hugged Lalith, who cried like a baby…
It is alright Lalith… I am sorry to have shouted at you in the Hospital… Let us not think about this anymore…. Come, let’s go for an ice cream and then start afresh…

All it takes is a little bit of understanding, situational motivation and a lot of love to live…

 

P.S. This is based on a true story of my friend, who is my middle-school senior,  who asked me to write his story and make him famous (I have changed the names upon his wife’s request).

 

15085561_936997419769428_7055745820243554411_n

 

 

 

 


 

2 thoughts on “ChithLith

  1. Dear Shravanthi,

    This is beautifully written. Reads like a summary of a movie or rather serves as the basis for a 10 to 15 minutes short film. Your writing has truly evolved over the years and it is indeed a pleasure to read your writing.

    As I said, Keep smiling, keep blogging 🙂 God bless you!

    Regards,
    Mahesh

:D Pudhu Post potappo thirumbi vandhu comment pannungo

